Discover Cairn de Barnenez
The structure, once covered in earth, looks a bit like a Hammerhead shark with stepped sides, which rise to 16ft (5m). There are actually two burial chambers – the first one dates back to around 4500BC and is made of dolerite, while an addition made a few hundred years later was built using granite from the Île de Sterec.
Inside, there are 11 passage tombs although the cairn’s interior is not open to the public. As a result of the site being used as a quarry until the 1950s, some of the chambers are partially exposed. The cairn was restored between 1954 and 1968, when excavations found Neolithic pottery, axes and arrowheads as well as Bronze Age pottery; some of these finds can be seen in the visitor centre. French speakers can enjoy a 45-minute guided tour of the site while written documentation is available in English for a 30-minute self-guided tour.